Memory Failure

Yesterday was a bit of a sad day as I took an 87-year old lady to a neurologist to have her memory tested.  She failed the memory test miserably and was told that she has the beginning stages of Alzheimers.  It was tough watching her take the test and seeing her frustration at not being able to answer the questions.

On the ride home she said “I can remember things!”  I asked her “How would you know if you forgot them if you forgot them?”  She thought about it for a second and replied, “I guess I wouldn’t know.”  It’s one thing to know you’ve forgotten the name of something or how to do something, but it’s another thing to completely forget to do something.   I reassured her that the doctor’s just wanted to make sure that she was able to take her medication properly.  Forgetting to take it or taking it too often could pose a serious health problem for her.  She seemed to think that was a good thing.  I just hope she remembers our conversation.

 

About Diana

I am a Christian woman who enjoys writing about every day life.
This entry was posted in Daily Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

