Giraffe Neck

91CC4CA0-7FD4-4A9E-85A3-F3DB5339CEFA

Lately, I’ve been seeing a variety of animals I don’t normally see very often such as blue crabs, armadillos and opossums.  It got me to thinking about animals in general.  Giraffe’s have always been one of my favorite animals.  I started to wonder, what would my life be like if I had an enormously long neck?

For starters, I think I might tend to overeat a bit since it would take longer for food to travel from my mouth to my stomach.  I might not realize I’m full when I still have a mouthful or two of food that still needs to make its way down my throat.  Would I even be able to feed myself?  I dont think my arms would be long enough to reach my mouth.  Likewise it would take longer to quench my thirst if I was really, really thirsty.  Hopefully, I’d never get a sore throat because that would probably be a very unpleasant experience. I’m quite sure I wouldn’t fit in any type of enclosed vehicle and constantly annoy the people sitting behind me in a theatre.  Would I have a constant stiff neck from having to duck a lot?  

On the flip side I’d really enjoy the view a lot better.  It would be nice to have an aerial view of things and be able to see what’s going on all around me rather than just a few feet ahead.  I could literally get a birds eye view of nests and other animals that hang out in trees.  And if I really didn’t want to listen to someone jabbering on and on I could always say, “What I can’t hear you my ears are too far away.”  And that would hopefully get them to stop talking.  I would have plenty of neck space to adorn jewelry and scarves, but would not be able to wear turtlenecks properly.

There are a lot of pros and cons with having a long neck.  Maybe it’s better that God gave giraffe’s the long necks because I think my life would be too complicated otherwise.

About Diana

I am a Christian woman who enjoys writing about every day life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment