Optical Illusion or Delusion

Not all things are really what they appear to be.  Sometimes I tend to make things bigger in my mind than they should be.  What appears to be an illusion often times can turn into a delusion and disturb my peace of mind.   I saw this wee crab and took a picture of it as it was waving it’s claws at me like it was going to chomp me.  Now I really didn’t feel threatened by it because I could have easily stepped on it and destroyed the poor little bugger.  Since I deemed it to be completely harmless I got quite close to it to take it’s picture.

However, when I look at the picture and notice it’s shadow, I couldn’t help but think what would have gone through my mind if I only saw it’s shadow?  Given the size of the shadow and it’s ominous, Batman-like appearance I would venture to guess that I might have been quite intimidated by it if not frightened by it.

It made me wonder, how many of my problems gave the illusion of being something big and terrifying which deluded me into believing my problem was hopeless rather than being a trivial bump in the road?  I’m sure it’s more than I would care to admit.  So thank you little crab for showing me that I shouldn’t delude myself into making negative things big in my mind because chances are it’s only an illusion.

About Diana

I am a Christian woman who enjoys writing about every day life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment