Instagramcracker

imageWhat is it about Instagram that makes people want to post photos of their food or drink? If I were to do an unofficial guesstimate, I would say that about 25% of the posts I see are of food. Before digital cameras, I don’t remember people taking photos of their food and placing them in a photo album or frame. Frankly, it’s not an interesting picture unless it’s on a menu or in a magazine accompanied by an article.

Personally, i don’t care what you’ve just eaten and I don’t want to look at a picture of it. I would rather see a picture of you doing something other than eating. I would like to see some university college student make this phenomena their dissertation project. Just off the top of my head I can come up with a couple of theories: 1. People have forgotten how to have dinner conversation and cell phone photography is a means to fill in the awkward silent moments, 2. People need to take photos of their food so that when people ask what they ate for dinner, they’ll remember, 3. Food has become more interesting and pretty to look at then in the past, 4. The Food Network is secretly using average people to recruit good chefs, 5. My friends are obsessed with food and eat a lot, 6. People are lacking creativity so they take photos of other’s culinary creativity, 7. People are afraid to be different so they do what everybody else does and that’s post pictures of food, or 8. It’s the new way to share a meal with someone without actually being present with them.

Whatever the reason, I think Instagram should come up with a way to limit the amount of food posts to 1 in every 20 or so for each person.

About Diana

I am a Christian woman who enjoys writing about every day life.
This entry was posted in Daily Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment